Manufacturing Process

LÆPOCA Mezcal is produced in Santiago de Matatlán according to a so-called proceso artesanal. This means that LÆPOCA Mezcal is not produced industrially like other Mezcals, but in traditional craftsmanship. That is why we also do not use any machines. By using the skills and labor of men and horses, small production batches are manufactured, carefully supervised by the Maestro Mezcalero to ensure the unique taste.

Agave field in Oaxaca, Mexico. Home of Laepoca Mezcal. Mezcal with me.

After 8-10 years

Harvesting

The production process, which has been handed down for generations, begins by cutting off the thick agave leaves with a machete or coa de jima to expose the agave heart (piña). Each heart weighs between 40-80 kg. It is called heart not without reason, since it is the most important element of the agave – and of course of our mezcal LÆPOCA.

Up to 48 Hours

Roasting

At the distillery (palenque), the hearts are halved or quartered and "roasted" in an earthen hole (horno de piso) lined with hot stones and covered with agave leaves to distribute the heat evenly. This transforms the agave's natural terpenes and fats into sugar, which provides the Mezcal with its sweet taste, reminiscent of ripe fruit. After about 48 hours, the agave hearts are taken out.

Grinding of Agave to manufacture Laepoca Mezcal in Oaxaca, Mexico. Mezcal with me.

traditional

Grinding

Now it's up to Teresa and Sara, the horses of the palenque. They take turns moving the grindstone, which further crushes the hearts and squeezes out the agave juice.

Up to 10 days

Fermentation

During the next step, agave fiber and juice will be mixed with water and set in large wooden barrels (tinas) for fermentation. In our traditional process, we do not use any other additives. Oxygen helps the microbes to start their process of decomposition and convert the sugar into ethanol.

Mezcaleros closely monitor the fermentation process, which usually lasts 7-10 days. During this time, taste and aroma are constantly controlled.

Double

Distillation

Then, the resulting must is poured into a copper pot to be distilled for the first time. The experience of the Mezcalero is also essential in this process. After the second distillation, the Mezcal has an alcohol content of 70-75 %. Finally, by adding water, we achieve the degree we want.

Botteling of Laepoca Mezcal in Oaxaca, Mexico. Mezcal with me.

Finalizing

Bottling

Each production batch of our LÆPOCA Mezcal has to be approved by COMERCAM, the local Mezcal control authority. Afterwards, it’s transported to the packaging plant in Villa de Etla, where it is bottled, labeled and prepared for its journey to your home.

Herstellung von LÆPOCA

LÆPOCA Mezcal wird in Santiago Matatlán in dem so genannten proceso artesanal hergestellt. Das bedeutet, dass anders als der industriell hergestellte Mezcal, LÆPOCA Mezcal in traditionellem Handwerk hergestellt wird. Deshalb kommen bei uns auch keine Maschinen zum Einsatz. Mit Geschick und der Arbeitskraft von Menschen und Pferden werden kleine Produktionslose hergestellt, die der Maestro Mezcalero sorgsam überwacht, damit der einzigartige Geschmack sichergestellt ist. 

Agave field in Oaxaca, Mexico. Home of Laepoca Mezcal. Mezcal with me.

Nach 8 bis 10 Jahren

Ernte der Piñas

Der seit Generationen überlieferte Herstellungsprozess beginnt damit, die dicken Agavenblätter mit einer Machete oder Coa de jima abzuschlagen, um das zwischen 50-80 kg schwere Agavenherz (piña), freizulegen. Herzstück nicht ohne Grund, da es sich hierbei um das wichtigste Element der Agave – und natürlich des Mezcals – handelt.

Bis zu 48 Stunden

Erhitzen

In der Destillerie (palenque) werden die Herzen halbiert bzw. geviertelt und in einem mit heißen Steinen ausgelegten Erdloch (horno de piso) "geröstet" und mit Agavenblättern abgedeckt, damit sich die Hitze gleichmäßig verteilen kann. Dadurch verwandeln sich die natürlichen Terpene und Fette der Agave in Zucker. Das gibt dem Mezcal seinen süßen, unverwechselbaren Geschmack, der an reife Früchte erinnert. Nach bis zu ca. 48 Stunden holt man die Agavenherzen aus ihrem Steinloch.

Grinding of Agave to manufacture Laepoca Mezcal in Oaxaca, Mexico. Mezcal with me.

Traditionell

Zerkleinern

Jetzt sind Teresa und Sara, die Pferde des Palenque, an der Reihe. Sie wechseln sich dabei ab den Mahlstein zu bewegen, der die Herzen weiter zerkleinert und den Agavensaft herauspresst.

Bis zu 10 Tage

Fermentation

Im nächsten Schritt werden Agavenfasern und -saft mit Wasser vermengt in großen Holzfässern (tinas) zur Fermentierung angesetzt. Bei unserem traditionellen Verfahren werden keine weiteren Zusatzstoffe hinzugegeben. Sauerstoff hilft den Mikroben ihren Zersetzungsprozess in Gang zu setzen und den Zucker in Ethanol umzuwandeln. 

Die Fermentierung wird von den Mezcaleros genauestens überwacht und dauert in der Regel 7-10 Tage. Während dieser Zeit wird Geschmack und Geruch ständig kontrolliert.

Zweifache

Destillation

Der gewonnene Most wird anschließend in einen Kupferkessel zur ersten Destillation abgefüllt. Auch hierbei ist die Erfahrung des Mezcaleros essenziell. Nach der zweiten Destillation weist der nun sehr reine Mezcal einen Alkoholgehalt von 70-75 % auf. Den gewünschten Grad erreichen wir durch die Zugabe von Wasser.

Botteling of Laepoca Mezcal in Oaxaca, Mexico. Mezcal with me.

Fertigstellung

Abfüllen

Nachdem jedes Produktionslos unseres LÆPOCA Mezcals von der hiesigen Kontrollbehörde, COMERCAM, abgesegnet ist, wird dieser zur Abfüllstelle nach Villa de Etla (ca. 60 km Luftlinie) transportiert, wo er abgefüllt, gelabelt und für die Reise in dein Zuhause vorbereitet wird.